Tags

Well, it seems, minor rhythmbox versions are exiting Gnome GIT rather faster than normal … in fact the last release was the end-of-march.

Image

Hat’s off though to the key Rhythmbox maintainer Jonathan Matthew for being so proactive, responding quickly and fixing stuff. It is most welcome.

This version is code-named Devilfish  contains the following:


* Assorted bug fixes
* Embedded cover art no longer applied to following tracks

Bugs fixed:

632266 - "not enough space on the device" error when syncing (transcoding) flac files to removable device
682574 - upnp browsing problems with new grilo 0.2 rb-plugin built from git r2313d70 on 20120823
724931 - rhythmbox crashed with SIGSEGV in rb_list_model_find()
727254 - Please switch Paradise Radio default stream to include metadata
727437 - rhythmbox: gtk_menu_tracker_model_changed(): rhythmbox killed by SIGSEGV
727838 - Some grilo fixes
727937 - Wishlist: Rhythmbox unnecessarily announces "Not Playing" when I close it
730547 - External Plugin toolbar options wrongly spaced


From my point of view – some critical crashes have been fixed … and 730547 – this was my reported bug.  Cosmetic, but it makes my View Button from CoverArt Browser much more aesthetically pleasing in the Music Library view.

I’ve packaged this together and is now available in my Rhythmbox PPA.  This PPA contains the existing Ubuntu patchwork – hide on close, support for local and global menu etc.  N.B. – I tend to update my PPA as and when I’m investigating what is new in upstream Rhythmbox.

sudo add-apt-repository ppa:fossfreedom/rhythmbox
sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get install rhythmbox
sudo apt-get dist-upgrade

I’ve also included the visualisation plugin as a dependency together with the Context plugin which is not available in stock Ubuntu.

New also, I’ve incorporated this bug-report patch and Grilo support is now available back in Ubuntu – just enable the new plugin found in the Plugins menu.

sudo apt-get install grilo-plugins-0.2 grilo-plugins-0.2-mediascanner

The above will give you the new media sources in Rhythmbox – the key being Jamendo – Royalty free music is just a click away.  You also get UPnP & DLNA support as well.

I’ve raised this bug-report hoping that Stock Ubuntu users also get this new Rhythmbox update – go along there and click “This affects me to” to raise its profile.

