Python editing just got easier … PyCharm

For what seems like years … I’ve been using geany as my main editor of choice.

However, after 13.10 and carried over to 14.04 I got increasingly irritated over geany’s increasing glitchy nature – tabs never seem to close, a tab never got updated correctly, scrolling similarly was not very smooth.

Thus I took a look around to what else there was to offer and I’ve finally found my IDE of choice – PyCharm.

Its the small things that make this my must have tool…

  • split screen – not only can you divide a code module into 2 … you can continue dividing the screen.  Geany – you just cannot compete with this killer feature!

  • Integrated python console to try stuff out in without having to run up a terminal – and you can still do this – it is integrated into the application!

  • find the declaration – simple menu/shortcut and the declaration of a method appears

  • smooth and silky integration with Git

  • as you type style checker – yep I can now write correct PEP8 style code … and yes you can dumb this down if you dont agree with its suggestions 🙂

  • want to rename a class or member function – just change it. All references to the class name or member function automatically change.

Now if it can show me

a. the definition of a GTK method and

b. run an external application like Rhythmbox when I hit Run my life will be complete…


To install is simple.

  1. Install openjdk 7 from the software center.
  1. Just download the tar.gz file from the pycharm website – link above.

  2. Uncompress it and run it up via the pycharm…/bin/pycharm.sh file.

  3. Remember to pin the pycharm to the Unity launcher and you’ll never need to go and find this launcher.

By default, pycharm doesnt integrate with the new Unity integrated menus

trusty [Running] - Oracle VM VirtualBox_003

This can be solved via this PPA:

sudo add-apt-repository ppa:danjaredg/jayatana
sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get install jayatana

logout and log back in again.

trusty [Running] - Oracle VM VirtualBox_004

Look – its beautiful.

Well that’s enough gushing. Lets go and hack some new code with my new best friend.

3 thoughts on “Python editing just got easier … PyCharm

  1. You can improve the look by installing openjdk-fontfix with infinality to get font rendering like mac osx or windows.

    # openjdk fontfix
    sudo add-apt-repository -y ppa:no1wantdthisname/openjdk-fontfix
    sudo apt-get update
    sudo apt-get -y install openjdk-7-jdk

    # infinality
    sudo add-apt-repository -y ppa:no1wantdthisname/ppa
    sudo apt-get update
    sudo apt-get -y install fontconfig-infinality
    sudo /etc/fonts/infinality/infctl.sh setstyle win7

    # reboot
    sudo reboot

    I kept my mac because I was in love with its font rendering.
    With these patches, I sold my mac and bought an amazing laptop powered by Ubuntu.
    I use NetBeans too for and the font rendering is perfect!

Leave a Reply

